August 2023 Wrap Up

Hello reader, welcome back to my blog. In this post I am sharing the books I read in August. I know that lately all I have been posting are these wrap up posts, that’s because my mind has been so busy and overwhelmed trying to start my art business. It’s all been rather exciting and equally terrifying, and as I can only handle so much at once I’ve had to let my blog take a backseat for a little while. This’ll probably continue for the next few months as I secure my footing and find a balance, so for now I am trying to maintain a monthly post! If you’d like to check out my art (I’d very much appreciate it) you can find my socials at:

The Truth About Melody Browne by Lisa Jewell

Rating: 3 stars

Review: As a child, Melody’s house burned down, and along with it taking away all their possessions, the trauma of the fire caused Melody to forget her childhood. As an adult, she is trying to piece back together the missing memories as she figures out who she is, who she always has been. But, with each new memory that resurfaces, a new question is thrown into play, leading Melody into unexpected paths.

This was an enjoyable read with an intriguing premise that sparked interest from the first page. I liked the relationships between all the characters, and admired the focus on family ties, be it conventional or alternative connections. There were many touching moments, some sad while others heart-warming, yet overall I felt that the book lacked atmosphere causing many scenes to fall flat. I’m aware that Lisa Jewell is a fairly popular mystery author and I’m very interested in reading more of her work.

“I’m a bit of a mystery.”

The Truth About Melody Browne

Lessons In Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Review: Elizabeth Zott, a chemist with an extraordinary mind and principles, is a woman battling against the patriarchal norms of her era. It is 1960 and as the only female scientist in her research centre, inequality and unjust behaviours know no bounds. When she meets Calvin Evans, a fellow scientist, her life takes an unexpected turn when they fall in love and he unknowingly steers her life off a different course.

A powerful female protagonist fighting for equality and staying true to her beliefs when the whole world is trying to silence her. Yes. Everything about this book, from plot to characters to the writing style screamed charm, elegance and wit. The way Elizabeth takes on each new challenge forced upon her is inspiring and thought provoking. This book will take you by the hand and change your world within four hundred pages. I cannot end this without mentioning Six-Thirty, an incredible canine, the cherry on top of an already delicious dessert.

Rating: 5 stars

“Life’s a mystery, isn’t it? People who try and plan it inevitably end up disappointed.”

Lessons In Chemistry

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Evelyn Hardcastle is going to be murdered at 11pm. With a new host to inhabit, a new perspective and only eight days to solve the murder before the board resets, can Aiden Bishop figure it out and escape? In order to do so the Plague Doctor needs the name of the killer, and as Aiden soon figures out, some of his hosts are more useful than others. With two other players also attempting to identify the murderer, there are many obstacles Aiden has to overcome.

Wow. Now this is a book with atmosphere. I was completely drawn in from beginning to end and with simultaneously too much information and not enough, guesses as to who the killer is get wilder and wilder as the story progresses. The story at times felt deliberately slow to keep the reader engaged in the story as they try and figure out their own suspicions. This book completely surprised me, I was not expecting to love it half as much as I did. It has certainly invoked a passion for murder mystery novels that I didn’t know I had (suggestions for others are very much welcomed!) An extraordinarily original book that’ll keep you eagerly flipping the pages!

“Too little information and you’re blind, too much and you’re blinded.”

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Review: Jim Hawkins, an adventurous young lad, discovers a treasure map locked in Billy Bones, the former sea captain’s chest. Confirmed to be the map of the infamous pirate Captain Flint, Dr. Livesey and Trelawney set to hiring a crew, which includes none other than Long John Silver. On the journey, signs of mutiny begin humming around the ship, and Jim must discover who is trustworthy.

An exciting and epic tale to last the ages. Filled with many compelling characters and an exciting plot, results in a must read. In addition, as far as classics go, this is an easy read, after all it is aimed at children, but is definitely a novel for all with adventure in their hearts! Jim Hawkins is a classic well-rounded good character, the moral compass whose youthful charm and naivety anchors the story. It’s entertaining, complex, filled with heart and well worth a read says I!

Rating: 4 stars

“We must go on, because we can’t turn back.”

Treasure Island

Thank you for reading!
Jade Anna x

Leave a comment