March 2023 Wrap Up

Hello reader, welcome back to my blog. In today’s post I am sharing my reading wrap up for March. If you read my February Wrap Up post, you’ll know that I was finding it difficult keeping up my reading habits the past couple months. That seems to be looking up now for April, but it does mean I only read three books in March. So here is my short little post about my March reads.

Medusa by Jessie Burton

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Medusa, lonely in her exile, discovers unexpected feelings and emotions when Perseus arrives on the island with a quest of his own. With an empowering and imaginative new twist on the tale we all know, this retelling is beautiful in its evocative writing and imagery. Burton depicts Medusa in a realistic manner with raw and relatable emotions to attract new readers. It was refreshing to read a new perspective of Medusa where she isn’t portrayed as a villain. Medusa offers something to every reader, I really enjoyed reading it and I think you will too!

“Sometimes, not even folding yourself into the smallest, littlest shape is enough. So you might as well stay the size you’re supposed to be.”

Medusa

The Book of Echoes by Rosanna Amaka

Review: This book follows the perspectives of Michael, a boy from Brixton, and Ngozi, a girl from Obowi, narrated by an ancestor. The story deals with discrimination, oppression, poverty, sexism, family and culture, just to name a few, with such powerful and passionate intent behind each topic. As a reader, we absorb these words, allowing them to change, to evolve us, and learn from these stories. This narrative is designed to challenge us, as we take on Michael and Ngozi’s struggles, and continue fighting for equal rights. At its heart, this book is about resilience. I think this book deserves more time in the spotlight.

Rating: 4 stars

“Life sends its angels along the way – they enter, unknowingly change it in some significant way, and exit, having done the job they were sent to do.”

The Book of Echoes

Circe by Madeline Miller

Rating: 4 and a half stars

Review: An outcast in her family, Circe has always known she was different. But when she also discovers she is powerful, those around her begin to fear what she is capable of. Banished to an island by Zeus and her father Helios, she grows and finesses her skills in witchcraft. The story encompasses a huge portion of her life, as we follow her trials of love, her isolation, her power and strength and even motherhood. I confess I knew very little of Circe before reading this. It was a pleasure to get to know her story through Madeline Miller’s writing. This book is sensational, and I implore readers to introduce themselves to or refamiliarize themselves with this tale.

“Some people are like constellations who only touch the earth for a season.”

Circe

Thank you for reading this post!

Jade Anna x

Leave a comment